Thnks fr th Mmrs

I promised myself I wouldn’t cry, Will.

MYFO asked me to write what you’ve meant to them.  After all, without Deadspin, there would be no MYFO.  Plain and simple.  Without the Mothership, they’d be a sorrowful ice cream truck devoid of Klondike Bars.  And frankly, we all knew this day would come at some point.  You’d go on to bigger and better things, and the 5 guys who have asked me to pen this will have to scramble to endear themselves to the next editor so that they may write the NHL Closer next season.  So while they do that, I have a special TRIBUTE for you, Will. 

During the off-season I’ve been rolling with the guys from Fall Out Boy.  And we worked up something special.  Hit it, Wentz.

 

I’m gonna drop my head and ska-ee-yate

(From the heart of Forty-Eight)

Only player that is on my blog roll

Scared of Dauleri-ohhhh

(Do you have to go, A.J. has no soul)

And I wrote this song with a mocha frap

It is in your direction my stick I’ll tap

“Who the hell is Will Leitch?”

If you have got to ask

Better watch his fingers blog on the keys


One blog and one more time

Thanks for the memories

Even though my team wears white

I’ll only wear my black sweater

One blog, yeah, and one more time

Thanks for the memories, thanks for the memories

I’ll only wear my black sweater!

 

I’m kinda fearing for the future

What becomes of my Mattoon twin?

Will you be at the mall?

I’m really sad that you’re leaving (you’re leaving)

What will happen to the ‘Spin? (happen to the ‘Spin)

My angst will double-shift (double-shift oh!)

 

One blog and one more time

Thanks for the memories

Even though my team wears white

I’ll only wear my black sweater

One blog, yeah, and one more time

Thanks for the memories, thanks for the memories

I’ll only wear my black sweater!

 

Hatch says I’m just a kid who won’t give up his computer

But it’s because of a certain emo blogger

Editor sounds fierce, New York sounds far away-ay-ay

I would give you a hug, but I’d be called gay on the MYYYYYYYY-FO!

 

One blog and one more time

Thanks for the memories

Even though my team wears white

I’ll only wear my black sweater

One blog, yeah, and one more time

Thanks for the memories, thanks for the memories

I’ll only wear my black sweater!

Sincerely,

Danny

PS – there are more chorus reprises, but my tears have made them melt.  Sigh.

8 Comments

  1. Is this when I should I cut myself? Or put on more eyeliner? I always get confused.

  2. Daniel Briere is my bitch

  3. Wow. Not entirely sure I have words for this one. See, I loves me some Fallout Boy. Clearly, you love them more than I ever will….

  4. It’s amazing that Will let you use the FOB publishing rights he shares a 1/4 of.

  5. taking the vowels out of words doesn’t always make them cool!

    /teen girl squad’d

    Seriously, I pour out an imaginary 40 today. Godspeed, Will!

  6. Danny Biererereeree, you so emo.

    /wrists

  7. wow. that was wonderful.

    +2 for “my angst will double shift”

  8. @loser domi: SOOOOOO GOOD!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

